Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

April 1, 2001


Mary Jo Ryan

Nebraskans Invited to Nominate Books for the 2001 Book Awards

The 2001 Nebraska Book Awards program, sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book (NCB), will recognize and honor books that are written by Nebraska authors, published by Nebraska publishers, set in Nebraska, or that relate to Nebraska.

Books published in 2000, as indicated by the copyright date, are eligible for nomination. They must be professionally published, have an International Standard Book Number (ISBN), and be bound (with the exception of e-books, which will be accepted in the competition). Books may be entered in one or more of the following categories: Nonfiction, Fiction, Children/Young Adult, Cover Design/Illustrations, and Poetry. Certificates will be awarded to the winners in each category. Award winners will be announced at the Nebraska Literature Festival on September 21, 2001. The winning books will be displayed at the Literature Festival. Winners will be entitled to display award stickers on their book covers.

The entry fee is $35 per book and per category entered. Deadline for entries is June 30, 2001. Entry forms are available from the Nebraska Library Commission home page, or contact Mary Geibel, 402-471-2045, 800-307-2665, e-mail: Mary Geibel for print information. Enter by sending the entry form, three copies of the book, and the entry fee to NCB Book Awards Competition, Nebraska Library Commission, The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508-2023.

Nebraska Book Award Winners in 2000 were: Fiction, Jonis Agee for The Weight of Dreams, Viking Penquin, publisher; Nonfiction, Michael L. Tate for The Frontier Army and the Settlement of the West, University of Oklahoma Press, publisher; Nonfiction Honor Book Award, James Potter and Robert Puschendorf for Spans in Time: A History of Nebraska Bridges, Nebraska State Historical Society, publisher; Poetry, Marjorie Saiser for Bones of a Very Fine Hand, The Backwaters Press, publisher; and Cover Design/Illustrations, Larry D. Underwood for Abilene Lawmen, Dageford Publishing, publisher. All of the books were published in 1999.


The Nebraska Center for the Book brings together the state's readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, publishers, printers, educators, and scholars to build the community of the book. As the people who know and love books and value the richness they bring to our lives, our Nebraska Center supports programs to celebrate and stimulate public interest in books, reading, and the written word. The Nebraska Center for the Book is supported by the Nebraska Library Commission. As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information. The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission home page.

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.