Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

April 12, 2007

Mary Jo Ryan

Young Nebraskans Win State Writing Contest

Governor Dave Heineman honored Nebraska student writers by presenting them with Letters about Literature award certificates and signing a proclamation proclaiming April 15-21, 2007 as National Library Week in Nebraska. Students recognized for their letters to influential authors were:


Kassy Pepper, of Bellevue, for a letter to Margaret Peterson Haddix

Tayler Hough, of Omaha, for a letter to Ann Martin

Carrie Chen, of Lincoln, for a letter to Louisa May Alcott


Brooke Klebe, of Lincoln, for a letter to Jeanne Birdsall

Claire Wiebe, of Lincoln, for a letter to J.R.R. Tolkein

Katie Kutsenko, of Lincoln, for a letter to Leo Tolstoy

Award of Merit

Lilyane Sanchez, of Lincoln, for a letter to Harriet Beecher Stowe

Approximately 56,000 young readers across the country participated in this year's Letters about Literature competition, a reading promotion program of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, presented in partnership with Target Stores. In Nebraska the contest is coordinated by the Nebraska Library Commission and the Nebraska Center for the Book, with additional support from Lee Booksellers and Houchen Bindery Ltd. 

To enter, young readers write a personal letter to an author explaining how his or her work changed their view of the world or themselves. Readers select authors from any genre-fiction or nonfiction, contemporary or classic. The program has three competition levels: upper elementary, middle school, and secondary. The contest theme encourages young readers to explore his or her personal response to a book then express that response in a creative, original way.

Nebraska finalists each receive cash prizes, gift cards to Target Stores and Lee Booksellers.


Nebraska Center for the Book is housed at the Nebraska Library Commission and brings together the state's readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, publishers, printers, educators, and scholars to build the community of the book, supporting programs to celebrate and stimulate public interest in books, reading, and the written word. The Nebraska Center for the Book is supported by the Nebraska Library Commission.

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.