Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Nebraska's Regional Library Systems

Western Library System Central Plains Library System Three Rivers Library System
Interactive Map: Public Libraries by System
Systems Map by County
The Nebraska Regional Library Systems consist of four non-profit corporations governed by boards representative of libraries and citizens in the region. The four systems were established to provide access to improved library services through the cooperation of all types of libraries and media centers within the counties included in each System area. Each system offers a variety of services such as regular newsletters, meetings of library staff, workshops, consulting, and planning reflective of the needs within the region. The systems help the Nebraska Library Commission meet its goals on a more localized level.


Central Plains Library System

Denise Harders, Director

Vacant, Assistant

Debra Fairbanks, Assistant

2727 West 2nd Street
Suite 233
Hastings, NE 68901
PH: 402-462-1975
FAX: 402-462-1974

Newsletter: Plain Speaking

Southeast Library System

Scott Childers, Director

Todd Schlechte, Assistant Director

Catherine Sokol, Assistant

5730 R. Street
Suite C1
Lincoln, NE 68505
PH: 402-467-6188
FAX: 402-467-6196

Newsletter: Southeast Signal

Three Rivers Library System

Tammi Thiem, Director

Chelsea Morlan, Assistant

11929 Elm Street, Suite 18
Omaha, NE 68144
PH: 402-330-7884
FAX: 402-330-1859

Newsletter: TRaiLS

Western Library System

Cindy Osborne, Director

Logan Allen, Assistant

Email that goes to both Director & Assistant:

615 S. Beltline Hwy West
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
PH: 308-632-1350
WLS Cell: 308-637-2060

Newsletter: Western Sun

Nebraska Regional Library Systems

The Nebraska Library Commission has as its mission statewide promotion, development and coordination of library services. As the state library agency, the Commission is an advocate for the library and information service needs of all Nebraskans. Toward this purpose, the Commission has agreements with Nebraska’s four regional multi-type library Systems:
  • to provide a mechanism for development of cooperative programs among libraries and communities to address library service needs;
  • to work with the Commission and libraries to improve local and regional service development; and
  • to promote and enhance libraries and library services within the regional system area.

System Reorganization Information

Nebraska's regional library systems have reorganized, effective January 1, 2015. Four systems have adjusted their bylaws and incorporation documents to reconfigure their system boundaries and revise counties served. They have changed their names and their boards have reorganized to assure broad representation. Two systems have dissolved. A summary of the changes is outlined below:
  • Central Plains Library System – includes (with some additions and subtractions) counties served by the former Meridian and Republican Valley library systems. The System’s main office will be located in Hastings, with a satellite office in Kearney.
  • Southeast Library System – Includes counties served by the previous Southeast Library System, plus additional counties. The system office will remain in Lincoln.
  • Three Rivers Library System – includes (with some additions and subtractions) counties served by the former Eastern and Northeast library systems. The system office will initially be located in Omaha, but may move once a permanent system director is hired.
  • Western Library System – Includes all counties served by the former Panhandle Library System, plus additional counties. The system office will remain in Scottsbluff.

Regional Library Systems Configuration Task Force - Preliminary Report: March 14, 2014

Webinar Discussion April 22, 2014:
Regional Library Systems Configuration Task Force Preliminary Report

Supported in part by the United States Institute of Museum and Library Services under provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act and/or state funding appropriated by the Nebraska legislature, granted and administered by the Nebraska Library Commission.

For more information, contact Christa Porter.