Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

November 25, 2002


Mary Jo Ryan
Nebraska Books Honored by Center for the Book

The 2002 Nebraska Book Awards program, sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book (NCB), recognizes and honors books that are written by Nebraska authors, published by Nebraska publishers, set in Nebraska, or concerning Nebraska. This year's winners are:

  • Cover Design/Illustration: All the Horses that He'd Rode, Charles E. Hunt and Daryl Poulin, Dageforde Publishing.
  • Fiction: A Cafecito Story: El Cuento Del Cafecito, Julia Alvarez, Belkis Ramirez, Bill Eichner, Chelsea Green Publishing.
  • Non-Fiction: Cold Snap as Yearning, Robert Vivian, University of Nebraska Press.
  • Non-Fiction Honor Book: The Nature of Nebraska, Paul A. Johnsgard, University of Nebraska Press.
  • Poetry: Bullroarer: A Sequence, Ted Genoways, Northeastern University Press.
  • Poetry Honor Books: Lost in Seward County, Marjorie Saiser, The Backwaters Press. Trans, Hilda Raz, Wesleyan University Press.

Books published in 2002 will be eligible for the 2003 Awards program. To receive notification of the 2003 Book Awards program, contact Mary Geibel, 402-471-2045, 800-307-2665.

As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information. The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission home page, search on Library Commission News Releases.

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.