Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

July 29, 2009

Mary Jo Ryan

Gov. Heineman Names Appointments to Nebraska Library Commission

Gov. Dave Heineman recently appointed Stephen Batty, of McCook; and Diane Boyd, of South Sioux City, to three-year terms on the Nebraska Library Commission.

Steve Batty is the chair of the McCook Public Library Board of Trustees and has written several grants for the library. He is a semi-retired business consultant and adult educator. Steve also served two terms on the McCook City Council. In addition, he is a long time board member of the Central Mediation Center in Kearney. Steve also spearheaded the project to make images from the McCook Historical Society and Museum of the High Plains Railroad collection available via the Internet through the Nebraska Library Commission's Nebraska Memories( project.

Diane Boyd has served on the South Sioux City Library Board for twenty-five years. She served as president most of that time. She is a member of the Foundation Board for the library. She served on the vision and design committee for the new library and worked on two capital campaigns for the new library building. She has received the Community Service Award for her volunteer efforts. She also served on the board of the Boys and Girls Home, volunteers for the American Red Cross Tour of Homes, and is a member of Chapter DE, PEO.


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission home page,, search on News Releases.


As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, "bringing together people and information."

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.