Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

October 14 2014

Tessa Terry

Finalists for 2015 One Book One Nebraska Announced

Four nonfiction books and three novels—all stories with ties to Nebraska and the Great Plains—are the finalists for the 2015 One Book One Nebraska statewide reading program. The finalists are:  

Benediction, by Kent Haruf
Death Zones and Darling Spies: Seven Years of Vietnam War Reporting, by Beverly Deepe Keever
Eagle Voice Remembers: An Authentic Tale of the Old Sioux World, by John G. Neihardt
The Floor of the Sky, by Pamela Carter Joern
Free Radical: Ernest Chambers, Black Power, and the Politics of Race, by Tekla Agbala Ali Johnson Goodnight, Nebraska, by Tom McNeal
The Loren Eiseley Reader, by Loren Eiseley  

The One Book One Nebraska reading program, now in its eleventh year, is sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book, Humanities Nebraska, and Nebraska Library Commission. It encourages Nebraskans across the state to read and discuss the same book, chosen from books written by Nebraska authors or that have a Nebraska theme or setting. A committee of the Nebraska Center for the Book selected the seven finalists from a list of twenty-five titles nominated by twenty-nine Nebraskans. In the coming weeks, Nebraska Center for the Book board members will vote on the 2015 selection.

The choice for the 2015 One Book One Nebraska will be announced at 5:30 p.m. at the Celebration of Nebraska Books on November 8 at the Nebraska Library Commission, 1200 N  Street in downtown Lincoln. This year’s One Book One Nebraska, Once Upon a Town: The Miracle of the North Platte Canteen by Bob Greene, will be featured at the Celebration, see or for more information about ongoing 2014 One Book One Nebraska activities.

The Celebration of Nebraska Books is scheduled for 3:30 - 6:30 p.m., with the Nebraska Center for the Book Annual Meeting to be held at 2:30 p.m. and an Awards Reception, book signings, and announcement of the 2015 One Book One Nebraska book choice concluding the festivities. Awards will be presented to the winners of the 2014 Nebraska Book Awards, and some of the winning authors will read from their work. A list of winners is posted at The event will also recognize Omaha’s Bookworm bookstore, named as the recipient of the 2014 Jane Geske Award. The Jane Geske Award recognizes a Nebraska association, organization, business, library, school, academic institution, or other group that has made an exceptional, long-term contribution to one or more of these fields in Nebraska: Literacy, Reading, Book Selling, Books, Libraries, and/or Writing in Nebraska. The Celebration of Nebraska Books is sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book, Nebraska Library Commission, and University of Nebraska Press. For more information, contact Mary Jo Ryan, 402-471-3434 or 800-307-2665. Confirmed presenters will be announced at and

The Nebraska Center for the Book is housed at the Nebraska Library Commission and brings together the state’s readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, publishers, printers, educators, and scholars to build the community of the book, supporting programs to celebrate and stimulate public interest in books, reading, and the written word. The Nebraska Center for the Book is supported by the Nebraska Library Commission.

As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information.


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Website,