Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

January 13, 2020

Christa Porter

Nebraska Library Commission Announces Public Library Accreditation

Nebraska Library Commission Library Development Director Christa Porter recently announced the accreditation of Sixty-one public libraries across Nebraska. Porter stated, “We are dedicated to helping Nebraska libraries meet Nebraskans’ information needs, opening up the world of information for citizens of all ages. The Library Commission continues to work in partnership with Nebraska libraries and the regional library systems, using the Public Library Accreditation program to help public libraries grow and develop.”

Public libraries in Nebraska are accredited for a three-year period. To learn more about this process and to see a complete list of all accredited Nebraska public libraries, go to

The Nebraska Library Commission congratulates the public libraries listed below as they move forward toward the realization of this vision for the future: “All Nebraskans will have improved access to enhanced library and information services, provided and facilitated by qualified library personnel, boards, and supporters with the knowledge, skills, abilities and attitudes necessary to provide excellent library and information services.”

Nebraska Public Libraries Accredited through December 31, 2022

  • Alliance Public Library
  • Ashland Public Library
  • Atkinson Public Library
  • Rock County Public Library (Bassett)
  • Beaver City Public Library
  • Bellevue Public Library
  • Dundy County Library (Benkelman)
  • Blair Public Library & Technology Center
  • Blue Hill Public Library
  • Garfield County Library (Burwell)
  • Butler Memorial Library (Cambridge)
  • Ceresco Community Library
  • Creighton Public Library
  • Crete Public Library
  • Hruska Memorial Public Library (David City)
  • Jennifer Reinke Public Library (Deshler)
  • John Rogers Memorial Library (Dodge)
  • Elgin Public Library
  • Elwood Public Library
  • Exeter Public Library
  • Fairmont Public Library
  • Falls City Library & Arts Center
  • Gering Public Library
  • Gordon City Library
  • Gretna Public Library
  • Hemingford Public Library
  • Bruun Memorial Library (Humboldt)
  • Grant County Library (Hyannis)
  • La Vista Public Library
  • Leigh Public Library
  • Lexington Public Library
  • Nancy Fawcett Memorial Library (Lodgepole)
  • Lyman Public Library
  • McCook Public Library
  • Mead Public Library
  • Neligh Public Library
  • North Bend Public Library
  • North Platte Public Library
  • Oakland Public Library
  • Omaha Public Library
  • Orchard Public Library
  • Ord Township Library
  • Osceola Public Library
  • Oxford Public Library
  • Paxton Public Library
  • House Memorial Library (Pender)
  • Plattsmouth Public Library
  • Plymouth Public Library
  • Baright Public Library (Ralston)
  • Seward Memorial Library
  • Shelby Community Library
  • Sidney Public Library
  • Stanton Public Library
  • Sutton Memorial Library
  • Lied Tekamah Public Library
  • Valparaiso Public Library
  • Wauneta Public Library
  • Lied Lincoln Township Library (Wausa)
  • Wayne Public Library
  • Wymore Public Library
  • Kilgore Memorial Library (York)

The Nebraska Library Commission would also like to congratulate two of these libraries on earning accreditation for the very first time. Those libraries are:

  • Garfield County Library (Burwell)
  • Plymouth Public Library

As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, “bringing together people and information.”


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Website, .

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.