Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

March 4, 1997

Sally Snyder
402-471-4003, 800-307-2665

Library Commission Helps Build Facilities and Improve Electronic Information Access

Nebraska Library Commission Director Rod Wagner announced the recent award of $285,123 in library grants to fund public library construction projects and to finance technology to improve public access to electronic information through Nebraska libraries. "We are dedicated to making the latest computer technology available to Nebraska libraries to open up the world of information for citizens of all ages," Wagner said.

The funds, made available through Titles I and II of the federal Library Services and Construction Act are awarded to local libraries and matched by local dollars. These funds are made available to Nebraska public libraries in 68 Nebraska communities through the Library Commission, Nebraska's state library agency. Some of the projects were developed in partnership with Nebraska's Regional Library Systems.

Construction projects include partial support for the construction of a new building in Alliance and for an addition to the current building in Hartington. Technology projects include partial support for equipment for a computer instruction lab and technology center, dial-in access to online catalogs, Internet connections, public access to CD-ROM resources and the Internet, as well as a variety of other library technology applications. (See attached complete list of library grant recipients and award amounts.)

Additional technology and construction grants are planned for this Spring. As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. "Bringing together people and information," the mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development and coordination of library and information services.


Library Services and Construction Grants Awarded to Nebraska Libraries


Library Grant Amount
Alliance, Slagle Memorial Library $ 90,000
Hartington Public Library $ 20,000


Library Grant Amount
Alma, Hoesch Memorial Library $3,750
Ainsworth Public Library $3,000
Atkinson Township Library $3,000
Bancroft Public Library $3,500
Bartley Public Library $2,000
Beatrice Public Library $880
Beemer, Karlen Memorial Library $ 3,500
Blair Public Library $ 3,000
Bridgeport Public Library $ 500
Ceresco Community Library $ 1,050
Chadron Public Library $ 2,300
Chappell Memorial Library $ 500
Clay Center Public Library $ 2,000
Columbus Public Library $ 3,380
Cook Public Library $ 1,000
Crawford Public Library $ 1,250
Creighton Public Library $ 2,000
David City, Hruska Memorial Library $ 9,000
Dodge, John Rogers Memorial Library $ 3,500
Elwood Public Library $ 1,000
Fairmont Public Library $ 3,440
Fremont, Keene Memorial Library $15,000
Fullerton Public Library $ 2,100
Gering Public Library $ 1,000
Gibbon Public Library $ 1,500
Gordon City Library $ 3,750
Greenwood Public Library $ 2,250
Gretna Public Library $ 2,000
Harvard Public Library $ 2,625
Hastings Public Library $ 8,000
Hemingford Public Library $ 1,100
Howells Public Library $ 800
Humboldt, Bruun Memorial Library $ 5,000
Humphrey Public Library $ 1,595
Hyannis, Grant County Library $ 1,000
Imperial Public Library $ 4,000
Kearney Public Library and Information Center $ 880
Kimball Public Library $ 1,000
LaVista Public Library $ 1,730
Lexington Public Library $ 1,500
Lincoln City Libraries $ 3,500
Lodgepole, Nancy Fawcett Memorial Library $ 1,000
McCook Public Library $ 2,000
Madison Public Library $ 4,500
Mead Public Library $ 2,000
Mitchell Public Library $ 2,250
Morrill Public Library $ 2,250
Newman Grove Public Library $ 500
Norfolk Public Library $ 4,500
North Platte Public Library $ 1,250
O'Neill, Grattan Township Public Library $ 1,107
Ogallala, Goodall City Library $ 4,500
Ord Township Library $ 1,350
Orleans, Cordelia B. Preston Memorial Library $ 1,000
Plattsmouth Public Library $ 600
Ralston Public Library $ 2,000
Rushville Public Library $ 6,000
Scottsbluff Public Library $ 6,000
Scribner Public Library $ 555
Sidney Public Library $ 2,000
South Sioux City Public Library $ 6,000
Springfield Public Library $ 1,000
Superior Public Library $ 4,500
Tekamah, Carnegie Public Library $ 900
Wayne Public Library $ 2,601
York, Kilgore Memorial Library $ 880
Total $ 285,123


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Home Page. Point your World Wide Web browser to

Nebraska Library Commission
The Atrium, 1200 N Street, Suite 120
Lincoln, NE 68508-2023

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.