Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

For Release On or After:
October 26, 1999

Richard Miller, Library Development Director

Library Commission Announces Accreditation for Nebraska Public Libraries

Nebraska Library Commission Director Rod Wagner recently announced the accreditation of public libraries across Nebraska. Wagner stated, "We are dedicated to helping Nebraska libraries meet Nebraskans' information needs, opening up the world of information for citizens of all ages. The Library Commission continues to work in partnership with Nebraska libraries using the Public Library Accreditation program to help public libraries grow and develop."

Public libraries in Nebraska are accredited for a three-year period, from October 1 of the first year, through September 30th, of the 3rd year. Roughly one-third of all libraries are due to renew their accreditation each year. To learn more about this process, and see a complete listing of all accredited libraries, visit the Library Development Services page and scroll down to Public Library Accreditation. Here you will see a link for
Nebraska Public Library Accreditation Dates.

Accredited libraries must meet twenty basic guidelines. These guidelines define a basic level of service for the state. Libraries that meet the basic guidelines are accredited and eligible for state aid to public libraries and other grant programs available through the Nebraska Library Commission. The guidelines also include advanced measures, offering a challenge for developing and improving library service beyond this basic level.

The Nebraska Library Commission congratulates the public libraries listed below as they move forward toward the realization of this vision for the future: "Affordable, reliable, progressive, and equitable library service for all Nebraskans regardless of their economic status and geographic location." As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information.


Nebraska Libraries Accredited through September 30, 2002

Albion Public Library in Albion
Hoesch Memorial Library in Alma
Brunswick Public Library in Brunswick
Clay Center Public Library in Clay Center
Wilson Public Library in Cozad
Crawford Public Library in Crawford
Dakota City Public Library in Dakota City
Emerson Public Library in Emerson
Exeter Public Library in Exeter
Fairfield Public Library in Fairfield
Keene Memorial Library in Fremont
Geneva Public Library in Geneva
Greenwood Public Library in Greenwood
Hastings Public Library in Hastings
Hooper Public Library in Hooper
Kearney Public Library and Information Center in Kearney
Morrill Public Library in Morrill
Goodall City Library in Ogallala
Carnegie Public Library in Pawnee City
Polk Public Library in Polk
Ponca Public Library in Ponca
Auld Public Library in Red Cloud
Shelton Township Library in Shelton
Virgil Biegert Public Library in Shickley
Springfield Public Library in Springfield
Tecumseh Public Library in Tecumseh
Verdigre Public Library in Verdigre
Wahoo Public Library in Wahoo
Graves Public Library in Wakefield


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission home page. Point your World Wide Web browser to, search on news release.

For more information, contact Tessa Terry.