Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

For Release On or After:
May 31, 1999

Sally Snyder
402-471-4003, 800-307-2665

Library Commission Supports Information Technology and Library Service Improvements

Nebraska Library Commission Director Rod Wagner announced the award of $218,620 in library grants to fund library technology projects to improve public access to electronic information through Nebraska libraries. "We are dedicated to making the latest computer technology available to Nebraska libraries to open up the world of information for citizens of all ages," Wagner said. The funds, made available through the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA), allocated by Congress and distributed to states annually, address LSTA goals according to each state's long range plan. Funds are administered in Nebraska by the Library Commission, furthering the vision and goals expressed in Libraries for the 21st Century: Nebraska Library Commission Library Services and Technology Act Five Year Plan (October 1, 1997 - September 30, 2002). Grant awards to local libraries are matched with at least 25% of project funding supported by local funds.

Public libraries in 26 Nebraska communities will receive funding to improve information technology services and/or improve information access for underserved populations through the Library Commission, Nebraska's state library agency. Two other library projects received funding to improve electronic information access for the citizens they serve, the NE College of Technical Agriculture in Curtis and the Grand Island Veterans Home Library. (See attached complete list of library grant recipients and award amounts.)

Additional technology projects are planned for 1999. As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information.


1999 Library Services and Technology Grants Awarded to Nebraska Libraries:

Arapahoe Public Library - $27,002
Beatrice Public Library - $3,431
Blair Public Library - $1,344
Bloomfield Public Library - $25,500
Central City Public Library - $2,644
Chadron Public Library - $5,000
Clay Center Public Library - $1,500
Hruska Memorial Public Library, David City - $7,130
Lydia Bruun Woods Public Library, Falls City - $8,703
Gibbon Public Library - $18,532
Gordon City Public Library - $2,352
Holdrege Public Library System - $11,045
Lincoln City Libraries - $19,700
Neligh Public Library - $4,275
Newman Grove Public Library - $3,485
North Platte Public Library - $35,827
Pierce Public Library - $1,536
Scribner Public Library- $2,833
Seward Public Library - $2,857
Shelton Public Library - $11,135
Stanton Public Library - $1,560
Superior Public Library - $4,972
Verdigre Public Library - $2,023
John A. Stahl Library, West Point - $1,500

NE College of Technical Agriculture, Curtis - $5,350

Grand Island Veterans Home - $7,384

Total - $218,620

The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Home Page. Point your World Wide Web browser to


For more information, contact Tessa Terry.