Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Mingnon G. Eberhart Bibliography

As mentioned in Dr. Rick Cypert's video introducting Eberhart, here is a complete listing of novels with recommended titles in bold. Also included is a list of books containing short fiction.

Novels by Mignon G. Eberhart  

Golden Age

The Patient in Room 18                                                                  (Doubleday, 1929)
While the Patient Slept                                                                   (Doubleday, 1930)
The Mystery of Hunting's End                                                       (Doubleday, 1931)
From this Dark Stairway                                                                 (Doubleday, 1931)
Murder by an Aristocrat                                                                 (Doubleday, 1932 )
The White Cockatoo                                                                        (Doubleday, 1933)
The Dark Garden                                                                             (Doubleday, 1933)
The House on the Roof                                                                   (Doubleday, 1935)  

Early Romance

Fair Warning                                                                                     (Doubleday, 1936)
Danger in the Dark                                                                            (Doubleday, 1936)
The Pattern                                                                                        (Doubleday, 1937)
Hasty Wedding                                                                                  (Doubleday, 1938)
The Glass Slipper                                                                              (Doubleday, 1938)
The Chiffon Scarf                                                                              (Doubleday, 1939)
The Hangman's Whip                                                                       (Doubleday, 1940)
Speak No Evil                                                                                   (Random House, 1941)
With this Ring                                                                                   (RH, 1941)  

World War II

Wolf in Man's Clothing                                                                  (RH,1942)
The Man Next Door                                                                        (RH,1943)
Unidentified Woman                                                                         (RH,1943)
Escape the Night                                                                            (RH,1944)
Wings of Fear                                                                                  (RH,1945)
The White Dress                                                                              (RH,1946)
Five Passengers from Lisbon                                                       (RH,1946)
Another Woman's House                                                                 (RH,1947)
House of Storm                                                                                (RH,1949)
Hunt with the Hounds                                                                       (RH,1950)  

Urban Penthouse/Townhouse Setting

Never Look Back                                                                            (RH,1951)
Dead Men's Plans                                                                           (RH,1952)
The Unknown Quantity                                                                     (RH,1953)
Man Missing                                                                                    (RH,1954)
Postmark Murder                                                                            (RH,1956)
Another Man's Murder                                                                       (RH,1957)
Melora                                                                                               (RH,1959)
Jury of One                                                                                        (RH,1960)
The Cup, the Blade, or the Gun                                                         (RH,1961)
Enemy in the House                                                                          (RH,1962)
Run Scared                                                                                       (RH,1963)
Call After Midnight                                                                              (RH,1964)
R.S.V.P. Murder                                                                                (RH,1965)
Witness at Large                                                                                (RH,1966)
Woman on the Roof                                                                           (RH,1968)
Message from Hong Kong                                                                 (RH,1969)  

Circling Back

El Rancho Rio                                                                                   (RH,1970)
Two Little Rich Girls                                                                        (RH,1971)
Murder in Waiting                                                                               (RH,1973)
Danger Money                                                                                    (RH,1975)
Family Fortune                                                                                   (RH,1976)
Nine O'Clock Tide                                                                            (RH,1978)
The Bayou Road                                                                                (RH,1979)
Casa Madrone                                                                                   (RH,1980)
Family Affair                                                                                       (RH,1981)
Next of Kin                                                                                          (RH,1982)
The Patient in Cabin C                                                                       (RH,1984)
The Alpine Condo Cross Fire                                                            (RH,1984)
A Fighting Chance                                                                             (RH,1986)
Three Days for Emeralds                                                                  (RH,1988)  


Books of Short Fiction  

The Cases of Susan Dare. Garden City, NY:  The Crime Club, Inc. by Doubleday, Doran & Company, Inc., 1934.  

Five of My Best.  London:  Hammond, Hammond & Co. Ltd., 1949.  

Deadly is the Diamond.  New York:  Dell, 1942, 1951.  Separately published detective novelette.  

Deadly is the Diamond and Three Other Novelettes of Murder.  New York:  Random House, 1958.  

The Crimson Paw.  London:  Hammond, Hammond & Company, 1959.  

The House By the Sea.  New York:  Pockettes, 1972. 

Separately published suspense novelette   

Mignon G. Eberhart's Best Mystery Stories New York:  Warner Books, Inc., 1988.  

Dead Yesterday and Other Stories, ed. Rick Cypert and Kirby McCauley.  Norfolk:  Crippen  & Landru, 2007.  

Nebraska Authors Website Movies Based on Books by Nebraska Authors

For more information, contact Lisa Kelly.