Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

State Advisory Council on Libraries Bylaws



The name of the organization will be the Nebraska State Advisory Council on Libraries.


The Nebraska State Advisory Council on Libraries is established by the Nebraska Library Commission to advise the Commission on statewide library development and planning. In addition, the Nebraska State Advisory Council on Libraries will be utilized for:

1. Advice and planning on such other matters on which the Commission may seek counsel.

2. Review and evaluation of interlibrary cooperative and resource sharing plans and programs.

3. Development, review and evaluation of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) state program and five-year plan.


1. The membership of the State Advisory Council on Libraries shall be broadly representative of the public, school, academic, special and institutional libraries in the State and of persons using such libraries, including disadvantaged persons, and geographic areas of the state.

2. The Council membership shall include eighteen members appointed at-large by the Nebraska Library Commission. Nominations from the library community will be solicited. Appointments shall be made to assure a broad representation of library types and interests. At least one member shall represent a major urban public library. Ex-Officio representation shall be provided for the Nebraska Library Association and the Nebraska School Librarians Association, who shall be the vice-president/president-elect, or other designee as determined by the respective association. Ex-Officio representatives shall be voting members of the Council.

3. Terms of membership will be three years on a staggered basis. No member shall serve more than two consecutive terms.


1. Chairperson

a. The Chairperson will be elected by the Council at the last meeting of the calendar year if the Vice/Chairperson-Elect cannot fill the office.

b. The Chairperson will preside at all meetings of the Council.

c. The Chairperson may establish committees for the accomplishment of works. The Chairperson will appoint all committees from the membership except where Council has approved the appointment of non-members. The Chairperson shall appoint members to the Talking Book and Braille Service Advisory Council.

d. The Chairperson will serve as a liaison between the Council and the Commission and will make an annual report of the activities of the Council to the Commission.

2. Vice-Chairperson/Chairperson-Elect

a. The Vice-Chairperson/Chairperson-Elect will be elected annually by the Council at the first meeting of the calendar year.

b. The Vice-Chairperson/Chairperson-Elect will perform all duties of the Chairperson in any absence or disability of that officer.

c. The Vice-Chairperson/Chairperson-Elect will perform such other duties as may be assigned by the Chairperson.


3. Secretary

a. The Secretary will be the Director of the Nebraska Library Commission or a designated representative.

b. The Secretary, or designated representative, will record and disseminate the minutes of the meetings of the Council and issue appropriate news releases concerning the Council's activities.

c. The Secretary will serve the Council as the chief resource person on the LSTA and the State Library Agency.

d. The Secretary will be an ex-officio non-voting member.


The Council will meet at least two times a year. Additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the officers. A quorum for any meeting will consist of one-half of the membership. Meetings will be open to the general public with appropriate notice given by the Secretary.


No member will be excused without having notified the Secretary a minimum of 48 hours prior to the time of the meeting, unless prevented from attending by sickness or other sufficient cause.

Failure to attend or notify the Secretary for two consecutive meetings is just cause for removal.


All questions coming before the Council will be determined by vote of the members. An affirmative vote of the majority of all members of the Council present at the time shall be necessary to approve any action before the Council. All questions determined by a majority of the members present will represent the advice of the Council. The Chairperson will not be compelled to vote except in the case of a tie vote.


Standing Committees may be established by the Council with approval of a two-thirds majority of the members present. Special committees to accomplish specified works may be established by the Chairperson.


Members of the Council will be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred while attending official meetings of the council or performing official assignments of the Council. Reimbursement will be in accord with State of Nebraska expense reimbursement policies.


No person on the Council, who is a public official, officer, or affiliated with a grant recipient, will participate in a final decision with respect to a project, if such a decision can be expected to result in any benefit either direct or indirect or remuneration, including without limitation, a royalty, commission, contingent fee, or other benefit, to him/her or to any member of his/her immediate family or other agency, institution, organization that he/she represents.


These bylaws may be altered, amended or repealed and new bylaws may be adopted by a majority of the members at any meeting, if at least ten day's written notice is given by the Secretary to all members of the intention to alter, amend, or repeal or to adopt new bylaws at such meeting.


Robert, Sarah Corkin, Robert's Rules of Order, latest edition, will serve as the parliamentary authority for Council meetings, insofar as it is not contrary to these bylaws.

September, 1977

Revised December, 1979

Revised March 10, 1983

Revised October 16, 1987

Revised September 14, 1990

Revised July 15, 2011

Revised November 18, 2011

For more information, contact Jennifer Wrampe.