Skip To Talking Book & Braille Service Content Skip Navigation

Public Information and Communication

October 28, 2014

Tessa Terry

Award for Promotion of Literature to be Presented

The Nebraska Center for the Book will present the 2014 Jane Geske Award to The Bookworm bookstore at the November 8 Celebration of Nebraska Books in downtown Lincoln. Omaha’s Bookworm bookstore will be honored for their extraordinary contribution to Nebraska’s community of the book. The Bookworm is seen as a critical part of the Omaha reading community. For twenty-eight years it has encouraged, nurtured, and supported books, readers, and writers. The store has a knowledgeable staff that read widely and guide customers to a variety of books and authors. The Bookworm also sponsors many Authors Series programs, bringing in the best authors from around the world to interact with the public through readings and book signings. The Bookworm also works closely with the Omaha Public Libraries by helping to support library events and projects, providing books for author events, and co-sponsoring an annual service project. Omaha Public Library Director Gary Wasdin said, “The Bookworm is one of the library’s strongest partners in Omaha.”

The Nebraska Center for the Book annually presents the Jane Geske Award to an organization, business, library, school, association, or other group that has made an exceptional contribution to literacy, books, reading, bookselling, libraries, or Nebraska literature. The Jane Geske Award commemorates Geske’s passion for books, and was established in recognition of her contributions to the well-being of the libraries of Nebraska. Jane Geske was the director of the Nebraska Library Commission, a founding member of the Nebraska Center for the Book, a Lincoln bookseller, and a long-time leader in Nebraska library and literary activities.

The November 8 Celebration, free and open to the public, will also feature presentation of the 2014 Nebraska Book Awards, and some of the winning authors will read from their work. A list of winners is posted at The Celebration of Nebraska Books is scheduled for 3:30 - 6:30 p.m. at 1200 N Street, with the Nebraska Center for the Book Annual Meeting to be held at 2:30 p.m. and an Awards Reception, book signings, and announcement of the 2015 One Book One Nebraska book choice concluding the festivities. The Celebration is sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book and the Nebraska Library Commission, with support from the Friends of the University of Nebraska Press.

The Nebraska Center for the Book is housed at the Nebraska Library Commission and brings together the state’s readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, publishers, printers, educators, and scholars to build the community of the book, supporting programs to celebrate and stimulate public interest in books, reading, and the written word. The Nebraska Center for the Book is supported by the Nebraska Library Commission.

As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, bringing together people and information.


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Website,